The Steady Warrior

In the book, Senses of the Soul: Emotional Therapy for Strength, Healing and Guidance, author GuruMeher Khalsa expounds upon the “7 Heavy Heroes”; those emotions that are normally thought to be negative in nature, but have in fact many gifts within. As we learn to listen to the messages these emotions are communicating to us, we are healed from the experiences in our past, worries about the future, and are better able to be present in the moment. The first of the 7 Heavy Heroes is Fear, sometimes manifested as Anxiety, which is an increasingly common experience for many in today’s society. According to Khalsa, all Stress is fear-based. Fear is instinctual and necessary in that its purpose is to keep us safe and secure.

The Purpose of Fear

When you are worried, confused, overwhelmed, anxious, scared, or panicky;

When you are threatened, in danger, or have been traumatized;

Or when you just want to create more security and stability in your life…

Fear is your friend, sounding the alarm and giving you the energy you need

To get information and take action until you feel safe, relaxed and peaceful.

Fear ultimately opens your consciousness to realize there is nothing to fear.

(GuruMeher Khalsa)


Fear is our internal security guard; our intuition is a way to respond to Fear. Intuition is our personal radar to detect harm headed our way – that queasy feeling, the voice in the back of our head, a nagging sort of push toward or away from something. Re-framing Fear as Intuition will improve our ability to work with it to get the desired results. Using intuition tells us how to act in order to attain a state of relaxation. When we can learn to harness our Fear to make it start working for us, it will deliver the gifts of Peace and Joy.

Use the practice detailed below to find your Strength and Courage.


Steady Warrior

Begin by tuning-in with the Adi Mantra (chant Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo 3-5x).

Time: 11 – 31 minutes (start with 3-5 minutes and build up to maximum)

Mantra: SA TA NA MA  The sounds SA-TA-NA-MA are regenerative. Sa is Infinity. Ta is Life/Existence. Na is Death. Ma is Rebirth/Transformation. These sounds describe the cycle of life. They open Intuition and stimulate the pituitary to make you calm and fearless.

Close your eyes and relax your arms along the sides of your torso. Press the elbows to the sides and lift your arms up until they are parallel to the ground and the hands are in front of the body with palms up. Separate the hands about 3 feet from each other so the forearms form an angle of about 120 2014-11-06 14.30.46-1degrees. Bring the fingers of each hand together so all 5 fingertips touch and point up. The arm position should feel very relaxed. Remove any tension from the shoulders and neck. Mentally focus at the top of the nose where the eyebrows meet (the browpoint). Regulate the breath precisely: Deeply inhale and then completely exhale. Suspend the breath out for 16 regular beats. Then quickly inhale and exhale again and hold the exhale out. Continue this cycle.

As you hold the breath out, concentrate at the brow point with a mental mantra. Pulse these sounds: SA-TA-NA-MA–SA-TA-NA-MA–SA-TA-NA-MA–SA-TA-NA-MA (4X for a total of 16 beats). The sounds regulate the time of the breath so it is the same on each cycle.

To end: Take a few deep breaths and stretch lightly.

Note: By holding the breath out, you intentionally create a small “emergency” that excites your survival instincts and fear. The hand postures and mentally repeated sounds create a conscious counterbalance that puts you consciously in control of Fear. That’s all you need to use Fear wisely and to handle any real-life challenge.




Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Kriyas, MAT Musings, Newsletter